Minnesota Concealed Carry Law
Minnesota strongly upholds the Second Amendment rights of its citizens. Minnesota history is steeped hunting and fishing. The state has an open policy toward both resident and nonresident gun owners. Minnesota is a “shall issue” state. A Minnesota Permit to Carry a Pistol is available to both residents and nonresidents.
Applicants for the Minnesota Permit to Carry a Pistol must complete a firearms training course.
By March 1, 2020 over 301,000 people had current Minnesota Permits to carry a pistol.
Under the Concealed Carry Reciprocity Legislation, Minnesota honors state concealed carry permits with regulations similar to the Minnesota Permit to Carry a Pistol. To date, this includes fifteen states. This link provides a current list of state CCW permits accepted by Minnesota.
Minnesota is a gun-friendly state. However, it does not condone “stand and defend”. State policy favors shooting restraint. Minnesota citizens have a legal duty to retreat when at all possible. When it comes to self-defense, you are justified in shooting only if you realistically believe your life or property is threatened. Use of your weapon is a last resort.
National Carry Academy offers TWO Options in Minnesota.
Our online Hybrid Class costs $99.00. The Hybrid course includes online gun safety training and a one-hour shooting qualification (in-person) at the range. *Please note that gun rental and range fees are not included.
In-Person classes cost $129.00. The In-Person course includes a day-long instruction and shooting qualifications on the range. *Please note that gun rental and range fees are not included.
Our Concealed Carry class is one of the most comprehensive classes available anywhere, and is a multi-state course allowing you to apply for not only your Minnesota permit, but other states permits/licenses as well such as the Florida or Arizona nonresident permits to name a few.
Please put the name you would like to appear on your certificate.
Taking the course:
Currently Minnesota’s Permit to Carry is honored by 24 states (subject to change). Our Permit to Carry course is multi-state in that it will allow you to apply for other states permits as well such as the Florida non-resident or Arizona non-resident permits to name a few. Obtaining one of these non-resident permits in conjunction with your home states permit greatly increases the number of states in which one could carry concealed.
Our course is taught from the ground up so even those with little knowledge on the subject matter are welcome. Our Permit to Carry class is a great first step that leads into other firearms training we offer such as our Handgun Essentials courses. It is approximately 6 hours long; consisting of 5 hours of classroom time and approximately 1 hour of range time. Periodic breaks will be taken during the class. We cover various topics including, but not limited to: applying for your Minnesota Permit to Carry, reciprocity, where you’re prohibited from carrying a gun in MN, laws regarding use of deadly force, firearms safety, awareness, and more. During the shooting qualification students will be required to demonstrate SAFE and proficient use of a handgun.
Applying for your permit:
Upon successful completion of the course, you will receive an endorsed certificate, allowing you to apply for your permit with your local sheriff (additional permit application fee will apply). This Minnesota Concealed Carry training also allows you to apply for the non-resident Arizona and Florida licenses. Applying for these licenses is done through Arizona DPS and the Florida DOJ.
Multi-state Permit to Carry Course Hybrid is $99.00. This includes: Multi-state permit to carry course online. Gun Rental with Ammunition is available for an additional $15 and a Range Fee of $15 may apply depending on the location.
Multi-state Permit to Carry Course In-Person is $129.00.This includes: Multi-state permit to carry course, classroom materials. Gun Rental with Ammunition is available for an additional $15 and a Range Fee of $15 may apply depending on the location.
Purchasing a Gun In Minnesota?
If you want to buy a handgun or a semiautomatic military-style assault weapon, you must have a permit to carry. Your Minnesota Permit to Carry a Pistol allows you to purchase handguns and some semi-automatic rifles. When you purchase a Minnesota Permit to Carry a Pistol, you are able to both concealed and open carry.
Federally licensed dealers may not sell or transfer a rifle or shotgun to anyone under eighteen. There is no minimum age for private sales. If you wish to buy a handgun from a licensed dealer, you must be twenty-one.
No permit is required to purchase or transfer rifles or shotguns. However, you must undergo a background check through the FBI’s National Instant Criminal Background Check System. If you purchase a gun from a private owner—such as at a gun show or online—you do not have to undergo a background check.
Where Can You Carry a Weapon In Minnesota?
You can carry your gun in Minnesota if you have a Minnesota Permit to carry a Pistol and you are at least twenty-one.
In Minnesota, you may carry in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol as long as the establishment has not posted a “no guns allowed” sign and you are not drinking.
You may carry at roadside rest areas, Minnesota state parks, forest recreation areas, and wildlife management areas unless posted as a no guns area.
In Minnesota, you may carry if you are traveling on a private plane.
You may carry in a place of worship as long as there is no sign prohibiting firearms.
Where is Carrying a Gun Prohibited in Minnesota?
The state does not allow open or concealed carry if you do not have a Minnesota Permit to Carry a Pistol.
In Minnesota, you may not carry in the buildings or grounds of elementary or secondary schools or on school buses. It is illegal to carry in hospital, state penitentiaries or any private or public businesses that have posted no guns signs.
You may not carry in any childcare center. You may not carry at the state capitol, state game refuges, or any jail or correctional facility. You may not carry at the Minnesota Zoological Garden.
You may not carry if you have been drinking or taking drugs.
Minnesota Firearms Training Course
Those who wish to apply for a Minnesota Permit to Carry a Pistol must show successful completion of a firearms training course. This may be an onsite course offered by the Department of Natural Resources. Click here for details https://www.dnr.state.mn.us/safety/firearms_isa/index.html.
It can also be an onsite course offered by a qualified instructor.
Minnesota also accepts online firearms training certification by state-approved providers like National Carry Academy (http://nationalcarryacademy.com).
What is a Hybrid Course?
Presently, Online Carry Training offers a course that meets the requirements of the Minnesota Permit to Carry a Pistol. The course options offer a total in-class instruction. The cost is $99.00. This in-person course includes a day of instruction and on-the-range shooting qualifications.
In addition an option offers online gun safety training course and a one-hour on-the-range shooting qualifications Both in-class instruction and range qualifications are covered in a significantly reduced cost of $59.99.
State CCW Site: https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/bca/bca-divisions/administrative/Pages/firearms-permit-to-carry.aspx#:~:text=Under%20Minnesota%20law%2C%20individuals%20must,that%20weapon%20must%20be%20concealed.&text=To%20obtain%20a%20permit%20to,the%20county%20where%20you%20reside.
Transport Firearms: https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/97B.045
State Statutes: https://www.revisor.mn.gov/index/statute/S9876057?year=2019
State Admin Rules: https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/
State Attorney General: http://www.ag.state.mn.us/
Secretary of State: https://www.sos.state.mn.us/
Online Carry Training makes no representations or warranties regarding its customers’ legal right or ability to carry a firearm in states with reciprocal permit to carry or conceal and carry agreements with other jurisdictions. Though the state-specific certification our customers receive will allow them to apply for a permit under the laws of the state for which our classes are designed, such certification may not give you the legal right or ability to apply for permits in other states, including your home state. You should consult with appropriate law enforcement officials, or your own legal counsel, to determine whether or not the certification you receive from our courses will make you eligible apply for a permit in a particular state, or to otherwise carry a firearm in that state.