Vermont Concealed Carry Law
Welcome to Vermont’s premier Concealed Carry training website!
If you’re interested in obtaining a concealed carry permit in Vermont, our online course offers the fastest and most convenient training to qualify you for a Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License, which is honored in Vermont and many other states.
Vermont as a state is one of the most permissive states when it comes to gun laws in the nation. This goes hand in hand with the rural character of the state that has a long tradition of hunting and outdoor sports. Vermont state law preempts any local governments from imposing any restrictions on carrying or owning firearms. So, wherever you travel in the State of Vermont you can be sure that the same laws apply.
Vermont allows both open and concealed carrying without a permit. There are still restrictions regarding concealed carry where it is illegal. It is illegal to carry a gun on school property or in a courthouse even with a concealed carry permit.
Vermont does not issue permits or licenses of any kind. Anyone who can legally possess a firearm can carry either concealed or openly. This presents a problem for Vermonters looking to travel and carry legally in other states.
Our online training course will allow you to apply for your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is honored in Vermont for residents and non-residents, as well as honored in many other states.
Our online course consists of a video lesson taught by America’s finest Concealed Carry Instructors, and a short test afterwards. Once you pass, you can apply for your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License!
Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License?
Yes. You will NOT be applying for your permit in the state you reside. This is for you to obtain a Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is accepted in the state you reside as a valid concealed carry permit.
How Long Is The Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License Good For?
Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License are valid for 5 years. We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the Virginia State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.
How to apply for your Virginia Non-Resident Permit:
To apply for your VA non-resident Permit visit: http://www.vsp.state.va.us/Firearms_NonresidentConcealed.shtm
You can also go to www.vsp.state.va.us and on the left side of the page click the link for “firearms/concealed handguns” and then click on “Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permits” link.This will bring you to a page that details the application process. You can begin the application process immediately by downloading their checklist of all the documents that need to be prepared to make your application.This webpage will give you everything you need to apply. PLEASE NOTE: To obtain your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the Virginia Police. This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit. If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.
State Firearm Site: http://www.atg.state.vt.us/issues/gun-laws.php
State Statutes: http://www.leg.state.vt.us/statutesMain.cfm
State Admin Rules: http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/codeofvtrules/
State Attorney General: http://www.atg.state.vt.us/display.php?smod=21
Secretary of State: http://www.sec.state.vt.us/
Online Carry Training makes no representations or warranties regarding its customers’ legal right or ability to carry a firearm in states with reciprocal permit to carry or conceal and carry agreements with other jurisdictions. Though the state-specific certification our customers receive will allow them to apply for a permit under the laws of the state for which our classes are designed, such certification may not give you the legal right or ability to apply for permits in other states, including your home state. You should consult with appropriate law enforcement officials, or your own legal counsel, to determine whether or not the certification you receive from our courses will make you eligible apply for a permit in a particular state, or to otherwise carry a firearm in that state.